Pros and cons of WordPress.com

Over the last two days I have been experimenting different features of WordPress.com and come up with a list of pros and cons from the perspective from someone new to blogging.

Pros

  • Free to use
  • Free website hosting
  • Lots of free themes
  • Website names and path automatically created

Cons

  • Customisation of free themes quite limited, paid upgrade required to gain more flexibility
  • Adjusting column widths require knowledge of CSS coding
  • Premium themes look nicer than free themes (understandably)

Conclusion

I thought about giving a squarespace a try as it seems more flexible to tailor the appearance given it’s paid service.  My main gripe with WordPress.com is something as simple as changing column widths require coding.  It should just be a matter of adjusting a slider bar.  Learning to code CSS seems to defeat the purpose of WordPress.com being a platform where you can concentrate on the content and appearance rather than the technicals!

I eventually found a theme that gives me a wider width I was looking for so I am going to give WordPress.com another go by adding more content and see how the menu interacts.

Leave a comment